Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Colonial Softball and Patroon Baseball All-Stars, La Salle and Columbia in all Rensselaer County Final

2008 Colonial Council Softball All-Stars
As selected by Colonial Council coaches
MVP: Erin Glikes, junior pitcher, Lansingburgh

Erin Glikes led the Lady Knights to a 2008 Colonial Council championship and earned league MVP honors.

First team:
Lindsey McKeever, senior shortstop, Mechanicville
Molly McDonough, senior second baseman, Lansingburgh
Anna Arceneaux, freshman pitcher, Mechanicville
Courtney Galuski, senior pitcher, Cohoes
Sarah Harrison, sophomore pitcher, Cobleksill-Richmondville
Gaby Elsbree, senior catcher, Holy Names
Nina Cervini, senior catcher, Mechanicville
Jess Dearstyne, senior catcher, Cohoes
Chrissy Shepard, junior catcher, Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk

Second team:
Jamie Sanderson, senior pitcher, Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk
Ashley Miley, sophomore shortstop, Schalmont
Megan Vola, freshman catcher, Lansingburgh
Sarah Cipperly, sophomore shortstop, Lansingburgh
Sarah Karpovich, junior centerfielder, Holy Names
Jen Ahearn, senior shortstop, Cohoes
Kelsey DeZalia, sophomore third baseman, Voorheesville
Jeana Longo, junior third baseman, Schalmont
Kelly Murphy, senior second baseman, Mechanicville
Brittany Vogel, senior shortstop, Voorheesville

Honorable Mention:
Ashlyn Siers, Laura Swanhall and Jesse Urrey - Cobleskill-Richmondville
Steph LaDue and Mary Kellogg - Cohoes
Fallon Wite, Lauren Walsh and Liz Dean - Holy Names
Kayla Cole and Amanda Lupi - Lansingburgh
Toni Liberty and Andrea Mastropietro - Mechanicville
Britini Rosaato and Amanda White - Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk
Bianca Bojarrczuk, Megan Wilgockl and Casey Brown - Schalmont
Britney Creed and Kate Chiseri - Voorheesville
Jamie Roden, Sherea Snare and Emily Roden - Watervliet

For your information, the section-wide softball all-star ceremony will be held at 4:15 pm on Friday at Clifton Commons before all the sectional final games begin at 5 pm.

2008 Patroon Conference Baseball All Stars
As selected by Patroon Conference coaches
First Team
Josh Ingham (Ichabod Crane)
Jaime Schultz (Maple Hill)
Nick Papas (Maple Hill)
Brett Anderson (Hudson)
Drew Doty (Chatham)
Brian Gauthier (Chatham)
Alex Sardo (Chatham)
Kevin Knack (Ichabod Crane)
Justin Brantley (Hudson)

Second Team
Kevin Carpinito (Hudson)
Derick Horn (Ichabod Crane)
Mike Rigos (Hudson)
Sean Kenney (Chatham)
Bronco Pavlin (Catskill)
Jared Skliba (Cairo-Durham)
Hunter Phillips (Cairo-Durham)
Jordan McComb (Taconic Hills) c
Joe Mahar (Ichabod Crane)

La Salle continued its perfect season with a 6-1 win over Bethlehem in the class AA semifinals last night. Kyle Charron was dominant on the mound throwing a four hitter and giving up one unearned run. He also had two singles, an RBI and a run scored for the No.1-raked Cadets.

They'll face Columbia who held on for a 10-7 win over Niskayuna in the early game at the Joe. Blue Devil starter Austin Chase struck out eight in six innings of work. Bobby Peluso hit a grand slam for his second home run since the start of sectional play and all nine Columbia starters scored a run.
Not the schedule change for the class AA, A, B and C-CC finals from Friday to Saturday. The new Schedule is as follows: Class C-CC: 12p..m, Class B: 3p.m., Class A: 5:30p.m., Class AA 8p.m. All games at the Joe.
Updated baseball brackets here.
--Ryan Kircher

Labels: , , ,


Anonymous Anonymous said...

charron gave up 4 hits and 1 run in the game against bethlehem. get your facts straight

June 9, 2008 at 10:15 PM 

Post a Comment

The following comments represent views of the individuals making the comments. Comments are screened only to keep out spam and uncivil behavior. All opinions are welcome.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home